Feedback from Guests

“Visit Uzes and stay here!”
5 of 5 stars. Reviewed on TripAdvisor October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Our stay in Uzès was our favorite out of our whole trip to France and Alexander’s apartment was perfect! It was so fun to be staying within the city walls and in such a quaint building with its views of the other roof tops. Alexander was helpful, easy to work with and quick to respond. The map provided by Alexander was most helpful as it helped us discover a restaurant we frequented each night, Les Terroirs. He also guided us to the market on Wednesday morning, where we purchased probably the best olives, cheese and meats we ate during our visit. We highly recommend staying here!
Jennifer, San Francisco, California.

 “Very charming place to stay”
5 of 5 stars. Reviewed on TripAdvisor October 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Since the appartment where we had stayed in Uzès the years before was not free we looked for another nice place – and there was quickly no question that this should be Alexanders charming little house in the heart of the Village. And indeed, the nice pictures on his advertisment don’t promise too much: Everything is arranged very tastefully, and we found we felt at home there immediately. Especially the room on the top with the great window and the view over the roofs is very attractive. It’s nice sitting there just enjoying the view. Everything what we needed was available in the house, and everything was clean and cultivated. Regarding contact with the host: From the very first moment it was like talking to a friend. Alexander always answered very quickly and open minded, obliging and kind, so it was not only a pleasure to be his guest, but also to communicate with him. We had been in best hands!
Birgit, Germany.

Merci Alexander for a wonderful stay. Uzes was simply beautiful – the warm September days, great markets, light and wonderful people. Thank you for sharing your townhouse. Warm evenings watching the flag flying over the Duchy were simply magical. The apartment and the town exceeded our expectations.

Meredith & Marc, September 2013

This is a fabulous house in a wonderful part of Uzes. Alexander is great to communicate with and his tips and information on the area enriched our experience of Uzes. Thank you Alexander!

Debbie, United Kingdom, September 2013

Since the appartment where we stayed in Uzès the years before was not free we where looking for another nice place – and it quickly was no question that this should be Alexanders charming little house in the heart of the Village. And indeed: The nice pictures on his Airbnb-side don’t promise too much: Everything is arranged very tastefully, and we found a place in which we felt at home directly. Espacially the room on the top with the great window and the view over the roofs is very attractive. It’s nice sitting there just enjoying the sight. Everything what we needed was there, and everything was clean and cultivated. According to the contact I just can give back what Alexander said: From the very first moment it was like talking to a friend: Alexander always answered very quick and open minded, obliging and kind, so it was not only a pleisure to be his guest, but also to communicate with him. We had been in best hands! What we enjoyed also was the fact, that everything we needed was just round the corner: A bakery, a charming tea salon, the market, restaurants and so on. And in almost the same time we found ourselves in the nature if we wanted to. Espacially for me it was great I could reach the swimming bath in less then five minutes. Above all the neighbours have been very kind, and after a short time I felt as if I lived there for a while. Not to forget the nice cats in the arrounding 🙂 
All in all, dear Alexander: We hope we stay in contact and have the possibility to come back as soon as possible. Thanks for everything, Birgit & Peter

Birgit & Peter, Germany, August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Alexander’s wonderful apartment in Uzes so much that I am seriously considering moving to the beautiful town! Much of my enchantment with the town was the warm welcome I received from Alexander beginning the first time we communicated. I could not have asked for a more helpful host and guide to the city and surrounding area.
The apartment is perfect in every way — size for 1-3 people, location, furnishings, and amenities. It was especially helpful to have a washing machine available for my 3 week stay.
Rue St. Roman is a quiet, safe street in the historic village. Church bells are magical and Alexander’s collection of music CDs put you in the spirit for an unforgettable holiday. I can’t thank him enough for all his help and advice before and during my visit . Above and beyond the ordinary!

Debby, USA, June 2013

We had a great time staying in Alex’s place in Uzes. It was exactly as pictured, clean, and very well-located. Alex was very quick to respond to all of our questions and was very informative. We loved hanging out in the Place aux Herbes (just a few minutes walk from Alex’s place) and visited the nearby towns of St. Quentin de Poterie and La Roque Sur Ceze (a really beautiful town with a river running below it). We would definitely stay here again.

Steven, USA, June 2013

“Alexander est hôte parfait. Même s’il ne nous a pas été donné la chance de le rencontrer, il est très accueillant et attentionné! Tout est fait pour que votre séjour soit parfait! Incroyable!
La maison est juste magnifique et bien conçue. Tout y est très cosy et agréable. On s’y sent tout de suite comme chez soi. Elle se situe en plein cœur d’Uzès. Tout est à proximité. La loggia du dernier étage est un petit coin de paradis…  A notre arrivée, nous avons découvert un cd de Sinatra dans la chaîne hifi, nous nous sommes posé dans le grand fauteuil et avons apprécié le soleil couchant sur le Duché… Magique!  Les vacances avaient commencé d’une merveilleuse façon! D’un point de vue pratique, tout est à disposition (linge de maison, infos sur la vie locale, cd, livres,…) Tout est pratique (clés, localisation,…) La maison est très propre.  Il n’y a rien à redire, excepté: Venez à Uzès et Chez Alexander!!”

Aurèly, France – May 2013

“I stayed at Alexander’s house with a friend for 8 nights. The house is very, very charming and fits with the local architecture. It is situated in one of charming narrow streets of equally charming town Uzes. That brings out a very special atmosphere. Everything in the house was convenient. Sitting on the highest situated room of the house was a special bonus.
As for the host, Alexander proved to be especially helpful, ready to help any way he could. Responded to our phone call immediately and helping right on. 
I strongly recommend both the house and Alexander as a host. I myself hope to come and spend more time in his house in the future.”

Hanka, Prague, Czech republic – May 2013

“When I saw Alexander’s listing on Airbnb I decided that was the place I’d like to stay. It was a good choice. Alexander proved to be so helpful in every detail that, coming into the fascinating maze of an old city, where everything is strange and surprising, we had the car parked, bags inside and a glass of wine in hand well within half an hour. The apartment is on four levels and the communicating steps are steep, but, as a couple in our late sixties, we left stronger in wind and limb than when we arrived and delighted in the whole experience. The loggia is where we spent most time – sunny, views over the tiled roofs of the town,and the proud tower of the castle above you. When we did the tour of the castle and climbed the hundred and however many steps to the top of the tower I was delighted to see my red coat I’d left over a chair in the loggia. Staying in Alexander’s apartment really does make you feel you belong in Uzes, even if you’re there for only a few days and speak French as badly as we do. And make sure you’re there for the Saturday market.”

Jim & Natalie – April 2013

“This townhouse is wonderful ! Location in the near heart of Uzes is so convenient, being minutes along old winding allees to must-explore shops and restaurants. I so enjoyed my stay here – well appointed suite, tastefully decorated to compliment & enhance the old world charm of this lovely town. Getting to Uzes from the train station in Nimes was easy, but there is only the one bus in to Uzes in the afternoon. Many day trips are very doable from Uzes, but just meandering the town itself was so pleasant ! Alexander was the most helpful and caring host, many thanks for all !”

Janine,USA – April 2013

“The visit of Uzes was the highlight of our trip of southern France. The town is really a little treasure that has a lot to offer, and Alexander’s house is located in the heart of it. The house is on several levels and it’s cleverly design to maximize the space. It was exactly as I expected. Although Alexander was not in Uzes at the time of our visit, he still managed to be an amazing host. He kept in touch with us almost on daily basis to make sure we are doing OK, he provided advise and suggestions. I felt like I was communicating with a friend. It was an overall very enjoyable experience. Thank you!”

Viktor, Canada – May 2013

“Uzès is a gem of a town, and Alexander’s place is a gem from which to explore it. We have nothing but praise for both the town and for this particular accommodation, and we spent a fantastic six nights here. Our favorite floor (there are four floors in this house) was probably the loggia on the top floor – great for relaxing, making a coffee, listening to Alexander’s nice selection of music, or even preparing dinner or a snack… all the while with views overlooking the rooftops of Uzès and the adjacent castle. Alexander was a superb host, even though we never met him in person. Communication with him was faultless, and he provided one of the most thorough booklets I have ever received from a host, explaining so much about Uzès and its surrounds, and things to do in the area. He generally took no longer than two or three minutes (literally) to reply to any of our inquiries, which was very impressive. His house is right in the heart of the old town, and a more charming old town you would be hard-pressed to find. I only wish we could have stayed longer, or even bought a similar property for ourselves to move into. Thank you again Alexander for a time we will never forget in Uzès.

Adam – November 2012

We stayed in Alex’s apartment for 3 nights and it was the highlight of our trip. The apartment itself is a beautifully renovated old town house right in the heart of Uzes. We highly recommend this property. Alex was not there to meet us but arranged everything and was very attentive and responsive. He was very helpful not only with the apartment and Uzes but also our trip in general. We could not have been happier.”

Silvia, Sidney, New South Wales, Australia – June 2012

“I had such a great time at Alexander’s place that I actually extended my stay! Where should I start? The place is really, really nice, conceived and decorated with impeccable taste. It has this delicious “luxurious retreat” feeling. Everything you could need (from an umbrella to a kitchen accessory) is there. It’s super clean and very quiet. The view above Uzès’ roofs from the room at the top is one from a movie, and hearing the bell from the church nearby is priceless.Its location in Uzès (the quintessential Provence town) is perfect, and Alexander (although we never met in person) was so helpful, friendly and responsive. I personally didn’t mind the stairs, they’re a great workout! I would have stayed there longer if I didn’t have to get back home!”

Stéphane, New Delhi, India – October 2012

“I don’t normally do the review thing but here make an exeption.Although we did not meet Alexander he gave us all the info one could need.The place was spotlessly clean and location was perfect.”

Jason – September 2012

“Very pleasant experience in Alexander’s house! We had four people staying there and all of us enjoyed the center place out of Uzes town, full range of kitchen ware. CDs and books that offered by the house. Besides, Alexander is a very responsive and friendly house owner. Highly recommendation for your holiday in southern France!”

Carol, Switzerland – August 2012

“My husband, son and I planned a very last minute trip to Uzes and contacted Alex a few hours before we’d hoped to check in. We were thrilled to receive such a quick response. He was easy to communicate with, providing all the necessary details to allow us to check-in just a little later that evening. He provided an informative document summarizing all the things we’d need to know about his townhome. The space itself was very charming. We were really hoping to be right in the historic center of Uzes and the location of this place can’t be beat! It is about a 2 min walk to parking and also to Place aux Herbes. We enjoyed the lively market and strolling through the small cobblestone streets. The apartment is comfortable although we did need to be careful, especially with our youngster, on the stairs between each level, which are quite steep. The use of space in the cozy apartment is great. We had everything we needed and more.”

Melissa

“We had a woderful stay in Uzes! We have rented numerous times before so have some experience ….. and Alex gets 5 stars as a great host! He is so responsive, organized, helpful and friendly that it truly made our stay very memorable. We felt welcome long before we arrived. He kept us informed about local events – a Ball at Pont de Gard! – to the best wine shop in the village – much appreciated! Alex made sure we had the very best time – and we did. HIs home was perfect for my daughter (25) and me. He has thought of every little thing that one needs to be right at home. It is cozy, comfortable, well equiped and decorated – preserving the history and feeling very authentic yet updated. The location is so great, too -right in the heart of the village. We fell in love with Uzes and did a lot more shopping than we had planned in some very original boutiques. Uzes is a great location for day trips in Provence, but being in Uzes was so lovely, we did not venture off very often. We can’t wait to return. It is at the top of our “must do again” list. Thank you, Alex!!”

Margaret, USA – August 2012

“Alex’s apartment is gorgeously designed and quite charming. We loved staying there for about a week. Uzes is beautiful and his place is right in the middle of it. Alex and the caretaker Jehanne are highly responsive and helpful every step of the way. Would absolutely airBNB with them again. The map they gave us of Uzes was very helpful.”

Gabe, USA – August 2012

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s